Belfast Telegraph

Heineken Cup: Ulster rugby squad announced for Northampton clash

By Niall Crozier

Ulster coach Mark Anscombe has added Ruan Pienaar, Chris Henry and Paddy Wallace to his 27 man preliminary squad as his unbeaten side go in search of their 50th Heineken Cup win when they face Northampton Saints in Friday’s crucial Pool 4 clash at Franklin’s Gardens (kick off 8.00pm).

Kiwi duo Jared Payne and Nick Williams are also named in the squad for the clash between group leaders Ulster and second-placed Saints after being rested for Sunday’s trip to Scarlets.

Experienced hooker Nigel Brady, development prop Ricky Lutton and outside back Michael Allen come in to provide the Ulster management team with further options.

Forward quartet Stephen Ferris, Lewis Stevenson, Declan Fitzpatrick and Adam Macklin remain sidelined through injury.

Ulster go into the game with nine points from the opening two rounds of the competition, three more than their opponents. A win on Friday would give them a very strong position before the return fixture at Ravenhill next week.

Ulster squad to face Northampton Saints, RaboDirect PRO12, Friday 7th December, Franklin’s Gardens, (KO 8.00pm):

Forwards (16)

Rob Herring, Rory Best, Nigel Brady, Ricky Lutton, Callum Black, Tom Court, John Afoa, Neil McComb, Johann Muller, Dan Tuohy, Iain Henderson, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Mike McComish, Roger Wilson, Nick Williams.

Backs (11)

Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall, Paddy Jackson, Paddy Wallace, Luke Marshall, Darren Cave, Michael Allen, Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble, Craig Gilroy, Jared Payne.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph