Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Hogg back for Glasgow

Stuart Hogg will start his first Glasgow match in four months when the Warriors travel to Wales to face Newport Gwent Dragons in Saturday's Guinness Pro12 clash.

Gregor Townsend has not named the British and Irish Lion in any starting XV since a 54-0 romp over Zebre last May.

The 22-year-old full-back - arguably Glasgow's most talented weapon - was even dropped from the Scotstoun side which suffered grand final defeat to Leinster in Dublin in the final game of last season.

But he has now been handed a reprieve after replacing Peter Murchie at 15 for the weekend trip to Rodney Parade.

Glasgow have made an impressive start to the new league campaign with back-to-back wins and head coach Townsend has now challenged his side to push on once again.

He s aid: "We've had two good wins this season, but we know we'll have to put in a better performance tomorrow, if we're to keep the momentum going.

"The Dragons are a physical side, both in how they are set up defensively and also their desire to contest at ruck time. They also have some very good ball carriers throughout their side.

"They were unlucky not to win both of their opening games, which were very close and we are well aware that we lost to them home and away last season, so it is a tough challenge that awaits us at Rodney Parade."

Hogg's inclusion is not the only change to the side which beat Cardiff Blues 33-12 last week,

Canadian winger DTH van der Merwe comes in for try-scorer Sean Lamont as Tommy Seymour continues on the right wing.

Alex Dunbar, meanwhile, moves to 13, with Peter Horne switching from fly-half to inside centre.

Scotland stand-off Duncan Weir comes into the starting line-up and Niko Matawalu replaces Henry Pyrgos at scrum-half after his try double from the bench last weekend.

It's an all-new front-row with Gordon Reid coming in for Alex Allan at loose-head, Kevin Bryce replacing Pat MacArthur at hooker and Euan Murray named at tight-head in place of Rossouw de Klerk. Allan and De Klerk are named amongst the replacements.

Tim Swinson continues in the engine room, with Fijian second-row Leone Nakarawa replacing the injured Jonny Gray.

The only change in the back-row sees Tyrone Holmes coming in for Chris Fusaro at openside. Rob Harley continues on the blindside and Josh Strauss once again captains the side from number eight.


From Belfast Telegraph