Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Horwill returns for Wallabies

Australia captain James Horwill has been included in Ewen McKenzie's 28-man squad for the Wallabies' final two matches of the Rugby Championship in South Africa and Argentina.

Horwill missed the home games against the Springboks and the Pumas after damaging his hamstring but has been passed fit to face South Africa in Cape Town on September 28 and Argentina in Rosario a week later.

Loosehead prop Benn Robinson also returns to the squad, with Australia coach McKenzie naming three uncapped players for the games - hooker Albert Anae, winger Chris Feauai-Sautia and fly-half Bernard Foley.

Sitaleki Timani and Dave Dennis have also been added to the final 23-man squad that took on Argentina last Saturday night.

Nick Cummins misses out due to a broken hand, while Jesse Mogg will undergo a shoulder reconstruction in a bid to avoid a persistent injury. Flanker Liam Gill and prop Scott Sio are both left out but will remain on standby.

Wallabies tour squad: Forwards - Slipper, Robinson, Kepu, Alexander, Moore, Fainga'a, Anae, Horwill, Simmons, Douglas, Timani, McCalman, Fardy, Hooper, Mowen, Dennis.

Backs - White, Genia, Cooper, Toomua, Foley, Lealiifano, Ashley-Cooper, Kuridrani, Tomane, Feauai-Sautia, O'Connor, Folau.


From Belfast Telegraph