Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Ireland 49 - 7 Georgia: Irish defeat Georgia in Autumn International at the Aviva Stadium

Ireland coasted to a six-try 49-7 victory over Georgia in a Dublin clash marred by an unpunished stamp to debutant Dominic Ryan's face.

The hosts were left incensed by flanker Viktor Kolelishvili bringing his boot down on back-rower Ryan's face, but captain Eoin Reddan's complaints went unheeded by referee JP Doyle.

Ryan somehow escaped serious injury in a scrappy first-half, before Felix Jones claimed a brace and Dave Kilcoyne, Richardt Strauss, Simon Zebo and Stuart Olding all crossed, with Giorgi Nemsadze responding for Georgia.

Georgia's tight-five dominated the early scrums, Montpellier's Mikheil Nariashvili forcing Mike Ross into conceding a potentially-costly penalty.

The visitors opted for a tricky shot at goal, only for full-back Merab Kvirikashvili to draw his effort wide.

That miss and one smart line kick from Ian Madigan edged Ireland into control however, and the home fly-half duly opened the scoring on 12 minutes.

Madigan slotted the penalty without fuss, to ease the new-look line-up into stride.

Loosehead Dave Kilcoyne then rumbled unopposed clean through midfield as Georgia ran woefully short of numbers after conceding cheap possession.

Ireland should have claimed the first try, but settled instead for a second Madigan goal.

Madigan opted for goal again from close to halfway, but lost his range and dragged his third attempt wide.

Ireland opened up after that, Darren Cave breaking blind and flicking a neat pass to Reddan, who fed Dominic Ryan on a lung-bursting support line.

Simon Zebo spun out of one tackle down the left flank, only to be penalised for not releasing at the ruck.

Madigan's simple line break set Ireland free once more, with Cave fielding the wide pass and grubbering down the line.

The UIsterman, called into the squad at the last minute after a week's holiday in New York, was unable to recover though, leaving a third chance unconverted.

Ireland forced a promising attacking line-out, but Craig Gilroy spilled Cave's wide pass.

Madigan punted the next kickable penalty to the corner, to enthusiastic home crowd approval.

After two failed maul attempts Tommy O'Donnell spilled the ball while stretching for the line.

Scrum-half Giorgi Begadze was sin-binned for Georgia at the end of the half, allowing Madigan to slot his third goal.

Ireland quickly broke their try duck after the restart, Kilcoyne driving home for his first Test score.

Joe Schmidt's side racked up three more wasted chances to add to first-half frustrations, before Richardt Strauss capped a regulation driving maul to double the try count.

The usual raft of replacements brought Rodney Ah You into the fray, with Mike Ross withdrawn as Ireland eyed next week's Australia clash.

Connacht's Ah You threw a forward pass then conceded a quick penalty in an inauspicious arrival, allowing Georgia a foothold.

Then from a penalty lineout lock Giorgi Nemsadze ghosted through flimsy defence to claim a try for the visitors.

Just when Ireland were expecting to burst the floodgates, they found themselves under the cosh.

Simon Zebo ran in Ireland's third score after a scrum deep in Georgia's 22, following a yellow card for number eight Dimitri Basilaia.

Lasha Malaguradze took a heavy bang to the head in the build-up to Zebo's try, receiving lengthy on-field treatment before being carried off on a stretcher.

Felix Jones finished a smart Ireland move next, before capping a field-length break launched by a smart turnover from debutant replacement Robin Copeland.

Replacement centre Stuart Olding then added gloss to the scoreline late on as Schmidt's men completed their routine and expected victory.



Ireland:  Felix Jones, Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Gordon D'Arcy, Simon Zebo, Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan (captain), Dave Kilcoyne, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Dave Foley, Mike McCarthy, Dominic Ryan, Tommy O'Donnell, Robbie Diack.

Georgia: Merab Kvirikashvili, Tamaz Mtchedlidze, David Kacharava (captain), Merab Sharikadze, Sandro Todua, Lasha Khmaladze, Giorgi Begadze, Mikheil Nariashvili, Shalva Mamukashvili, David Kubriashvili, Kote Mikautadze, Giorgi Nemsadze, Giorgi Tkhilaishvili, Vito Kolelishvili, Dimitri Basilaia.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph