Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Kellock to captain Scotland

Scotland head coach Andy Robinson has confirmed a 30-man Rugby World Cup squad featuring few surprises and Alastair Kellock as captain.

Glasgow Warriors second row Kellock was Scotland skipper during the 2011 RBS 6 Nations and has been awarded the honour for the tournament in New Zealand.

Scotland's Pool B campaign begins on September 10 against Romania in Invercargill, with further group games against Georgia, Argentina and England.

Glasgow Warriors number eight Johnnie Beattie, who was among the most impressive performers in the 2010 Six Nations before a shoulder problem curtailed his progress, has been omitted.

Beattie was the victim of intense competition in the back row, with David Denton and Robert Harley also missing out.

Edinburgh half-back Greig Laidlaw missed out after scrum-halves Chris Cusiter and Mike Blair proved their fitness.

Chris Paterson, Scotland's most-capped player and record scorer, has been included. The Edinburgh full-back is set to become the first Scot to appear in four World Cups, having made his debut in the 1999 tournament.

Robinson said: "What I've seen from the squad is a tremendous team spirit, a great courage for the way they've worked together and I'm delighted to be head coach of this squad. I know they're going to go and do Scotland proud. I have no doubt about that."

Backs - Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Castres), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh).

Forwards - John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester), Nathan Hines (Clermont Auvergne), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (captain, Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks).


From Belfast Telegraph