Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Lancaster names unchanged team

Owen Farrell has retained the England fly-half jersey for Sunday's RBS 6 Nations clash with France, despite the return to fitness of Charlie Hodgson.

Farrell's impressive international debut at fly-half in England's 19-12 defeat to Wales drew comparison with Jonny Wilkinson and he keeps the role in an unchanged starting line-up for the Paris showdown.

Interim head coach Stuart Lancaster said: "We were really disappointed to lose to Wales but we took a lot out of the performance and felt it was right to pick the same starting team to go to Paris."

Hodgson, who started at fly-half with Farrell at inside centre in England's wins against Scotland and Italy, returns from a finger injury to replace Toby Flood on the bench.

Stade Francais lock Tom Palmer also returns to the 22-man squad with a seat on the bench after Courtney Lawes was ruled out of the tournament with a shin injury.

Hodgson is Saracens' first-choice fly-half and Farrell lines up in the centres at club level, which was how England started their Six Nations campaign. But Farrell's mature performance at Twickenham two weekends ago has pushed him ahead of Hodgson as England's first choice playmaker.

England's starting line-up features only five of the side that started the 19-12 World Cup quarter-final defeat to France in October - Ben Foden, Chris Ashton, Manu Tuilagi, Dan Cole and Tom Croft.

France, who went on to reach the World Cup final, have not lost at home in 10 Six Nations games following their 17-17 draw with Ireland last weekend.

England team to play France in the RBS 6 Nations championship in Paris on Sunday, March 11 (kick-off 3pm GMT): B Foden (Northampton Saints); C Ashton (Northampton Saints), M Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), B Barritt (Saracens), D Strettle (Saracens); O Farrell (Saracens), L Dickson (Northampton Saints); A Corbisiero (London Irish), D Hartley (Northampton Saints), D Cole (Leicester Tigers), M Botha (Saracens), G Parling (Leicester Tigers), T Croft (Leicester Tigers), C Robshaw (Harlequins, capt), B Morgan (Scarlets).

Replacements: R Webber (London Wasps), M Stevens (Saracens), T Palmer (Stade Francais), P Dowson (Northampton Saints), B Youngs (Leicester Tigers), C Hodgson (Saracens), M Brown (Harlequins).

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph