Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Leicester to take on Saracens in LV= Cup

Holders Leicester Tigers will launch their LV= Cup defence against Aviva Premiership champions Saracens on the weekend of November 9-11.

Last year's beaten finalists Northampton begin the competition, now in its fourth season, with a home game against Harlequins, while Premiership newcomers London Welsh will make their debut against Exeter.

Elsewhere in the opening round, Ospreys will be up against 2010-11 winners Gloucester, Newport Gwent Dragons go to Bath, London Irish meet Sale, Cardiff take on Wasps and Scarlets go to Worcester.

English clubs have been allocated to the pools depending on their finish in last season's Premiership.

Teams in Pool One play teams in Pool Four and teams in Pool Two play teams in Pool Three, with the top team from each pool qualifying for the semi-finals.

Pool One: Harlequins, Exeter, Gloucester, Newport Gwent Dragons.

Pool Two: Leicester, Sale, Worcester, Cardiff.

Pool Three: Saracens, London Irish, Wasps, Scarlets.

Pool Four: Northampton, Bath, London Welsh, Ospreys.


From Belfast Telegraph