Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Leinster-based Ulsterman to captain Ireland U19s as four Ulster players in squad

Major lift: Campbell skipper John McKee holds aloft the Schools’ Cup
Major lift: Campbell skipper John McKee holds aloft the Schools’ Cup

Last year's Schools' Cup winning captain John McKee will captain Ireland Under 19s when they take on Australia Schools this weekend.

The former Campbell College star, however, is on the list as a Leinster representative as he joined the province's sub-Academy in the summer.

The hooker, who plays his club rugby with Old Belvedere, is joined in the starting line-up by Ulster trio Aaron Sexton, Conor McMenamin and David McCann, with Lewis Finlay named among the replacements.

The game is being played at Energia Park at 2pm on Saturday.

Ireland U19s are coached by Tom Tierney with Assistant Coaches Mark Butler and Colm Tucker. Tucker recently guided the Connacht U18s to success in the IRFU U18 Inter-provincial festival.

Ireland U19 team to face Australia

15. Oran McNulty (Galwegians/Connacht)

14. Andrew Smith (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)

13. Hayden Hyde (Cranleigh School/Harlequins/IQ RUgby)

12. Tommy Downes (Galwegians/Munster)

11. Aaron Sexton (Bangor Grammar/Ulster)

10. Jack Delaney (Crescent College/Munster)

9. Charlie O’Doherty (Newcastle West/Munster)

1. Harry Noonan (Old Wesley/Leinster)

2. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster) Captain

3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)

4. Conor McMenamin (City of Derry/Ulster)

5. Paddy Kelly (Young Munster/Munster)

6. Cian Prendergast (Newbridge College/Leinster)

7. Ciaran Booth (IQ Rugby/Sale Sharks)

8. David McCann (Banbridge/Ulster)


16. Scott Buckley (CBC Cork/Munster)

17. Aaron Hennessy (UL/Munster)

18. Liam Winnett (Buccaneers/Connacht)

19. Brian Deeney (Clontarf/Leinster)

20. Sean O’Brien (Blackrock College/Leinster)

21. Lewis Finlay (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

22. Dylan Prendergast (Ballina/Connacht)

23. Louis Bruce (PBC/Munster)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph