Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Munster horror for Ravens

By Michael Sadlier

Ulster Ravens 3 Munster A 28: It was never likely to have been an easy assignment for the Ravens against a Munster squad containing Alan Quinlan, Marcus Horan and John Hayes and so it proved as the visitors scored four tries in a scrappy an error-strewn interprovincial clash.

A total of four yellow cards were also shown by referee Eanna O’Dowd — two for each side with the Ravens seeing TJ Anderson and Finlay Bealham sent to the bin — though Munster were still able to then score two tries during the two 10-minute periods when they were reduced to 14 men.

As for the Ravens a solitary Niall O’Connor (pictured) penalty after five minutes was all they could muster despite having several scoring opportunities which they failed to take.

After O’Connor’s penalty, Munster struck back with three tries in the first half. The first came from second row Ian Nagle and then prop Darragh Hurley drove over from close range, after Peter O’Mahony had been binned, which was followed on the stroke of half time — when TJ Anderson was in the bin — by a try from Declan Cusack who converted all three Munster scores to make the score 21-3 at the break.

The second half brought two more yellow cards and also one score when replacement Billy Holland dived over for the visitors with his effort being converted by fellow replacement Paul Rowley.

Ulster Ravens: J Smith, D McIlwaine, D Cave, I Whitten, C Cochrane, N O’Connor, M Heaney, C Carey, J Burns, A Macklin, D Tuohy, N McComb, TJ Anderson, D McGuigan, A Birch.

Replacements: K McCall, A Whitten, F Bealham, D Houston, P Pritchard, C Spence, R McBurney, M Allen

Munster A: F Jones, S Scanlon, D Barnes, S Tuitupou, L O'Dea, D Cusack, D Williams capt., D Hurley, M Sherry, S Archer, D Foley, I Nagle, A Quinlan, N Ronan, P O'Mahony. Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, B Holland, T O'Donnell, P Butler, P Rowley, S Deasy, T Smith.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph