Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

New teams for rugby sevens

Three new teams are to be added to the roster for rugby sevens as the sport moves towards its inclusion in the 2016 Olympics in Brazil.

The 12 teams in the current world series - Argentina, Australia, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, USA and Wales - will be joined by three new teams for the 2012/13 series.

The three newcomers will be decided at the Hong Kong Sevens on March 23-25, the only tournament on the calendar to feature 24 teams.

This qualifying tournament of 12 teams will run alongside one featuring the current 12 core teams.

International Rugby Board chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "Rugby sevens is going from strength to strength and we are seeing unprecedented interest in hosting, participation and sponsorship for the record-breaking HSBC Sevens World Series.

"As we build towards Rio 2016 and our Olympic Games debut it is important that opportunities exist for all nations to progress to series core team status if they are good enough."


From Belfast Telegraph