Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

New Zealand scrum-half Andy Ellis to captain Barbarians against South Africa

New Zealand scrum-half Andy Ellis will captain the Barbarians in Saturday's Killik Cup match against South Africa at Wembley.

Alongside 2011 World Cup winner Ellis, other players with Test experience featuring in the team announced on Wednesday include his compatriots Seta Tamanivalu and Luke Whitelock and Australia's Taqele Naiyaravoro and Paddy Ryan.

Australia internationals Toby Smith, Sam Carter and Luke Morahan are among the invitational side's replacements.

Four South African-born players have been named in the team in Robert du Preez, Akker van der Merwe, Reggie Goodes and Martin Muller, while another, Ruan Ackermann, is on the bench.

After the match against South Africa, the Barbarians - whose coach Robbie Deans is being assisted by former England centre Will Greenwood - take on the Czech Republic in Prague next Tuesday and then Fiji at the Kingspan Stadium in Belfast on Friday, November 11.

It was also announced on Wednesday that Ulster, Ireland and British and Irish Lions wing Tommy Bowe and London Irish prop Ben Franks, a two-time World Cup winner with New Zealand, are to be part of the squad for the Fiji fixture. Ulster's Ruan Pienaar and Dan Tuohy will join the squad in Belfast as well.

Barbarians team to face South Africa:

Melani Nanai (Blues), Matt Faddes (Highlanders), Seta Tamanivalu (Crusaders & New Zealand), Richard Buckman (Highlanders & Panasonic), Taqele Naiyaravoro (Waratahs, Panasonic & Australia), Robert du Preez (Stormers), Andy Ellis (Crusaders, Kobelco Steelers & New Zealand), Reggie Goodes (Hurricanes), Akker van der Merwe (Lions), Paddy Ryan (Waratahs & Australia), Martin Muller (Lions), Michael Fatialofa (Hurricanes), Brad Shields (Hurricanes), Jordan Taufua (Crusaders), Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand).


Andrew Ready (Reds), Schalk van der Merwe (Montpellier), Toby Smith (Rebels & Australia), Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), Ruan Ackermann (Lions), Nic Stirzaker (Rebels), Richard Mo'unga (Crusaders), Luke Morahan (Force & Australia).


From Belfast Telegraph