| 10.8°C Belfast

New Zealand win Hong Kong Sevens


Rugby Union ball

Rugby Union ball

Rugby Union ball

New Zealand won the Hong Kong Sevens after defeating England 29-17 in the final at Hong Kong Stadium.

Leading by seven points at half-time, New Zealand eased clear in the second period with Frank Halai finishing the game with two tries.

Dan Norton, Greg Barden and Matt Turner all crossed for England.

The triumph means New Zealand now lead the overall World Series by five points from England.

England had earlier edged past Russia in the quarter-finals 10-7 thanks to tries from Barden and Turner before going on to beat defending champions Samoa in the last four.

Ben Gollings cancelled out Uale Mai's early try with nothing to choose between them at the break. The two sides then traded tries before Chris Cracknell's decisive score sealed victory for England.

South Africa overcame Australia 29-16 to lift the plate, while Canada defeated Japan 33-12 to claim the Bowl.

Canada had earlier ended Welsh hopes at the semi-final stage with a 24-17 victory. Wales were leading 17-5 early in the second half before Canada fought back with the help of John Moonlight's two tries.

Japan, meanwhile, ensured Scotland's afternoon came to an early end with a 19-14 win in the quarter-finals. Scotland had established a 14-0 lead early in the contest but Japan fought back thanks to two tries from Shuetsu Narita and one from Katsuyuki Sakai.

Finally, Kenya collected the Shield after a 17-12 victory over Spain in sudden death extra-time.