Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Pair named in Wallabies training squad

Wingers Drew Mitchell and Lachie Turner have been included in Australia's training squad as they prepare for the Rugby Championship.

With the regular Super 15 season coming to an end last weekend, Wallabies coach Robbie Deans has named a provisional 27-man squad to assemble in Sydney for a three-day training camp between July 24 and 26.

The squad - which will be supplemented by three players from the national rugby academy to be named at a later date - does not feature any Queensland Reds players, with the reigning Super 15 champions qualifying for the play-offs.

The camp is the first of two that will take place before the inaugural Rugby Championship - which replaces the old Tri-Nations and involves Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and newcomers Argentina - begins on August 18.

"The camps provide us with an important opportunity for training background," Deans said.

"It gives us the chance to bring the whole group together and familiarise them with the method, 'tune' them in to Wallaby content if you like, coming as they are, out of the conclusion of their different state programmes from FxPro Super Rugby."

Mitchell and Turner missed Australia's recent series against Wales with ankle and hamstring injuries respectively, but are welcome additions for Deans ahead of a busy period of rugby.

Melbourne Rebels star Kurtley Beale has been included in the training squad but his team-mate James O'Connor remains on the sidelines with a hamstring injury, while Western Force lock Nathan Sharpe has been rested from the camp.

Skipper James Horwill (hamstring) is a long-term casualty while Wycliff Palu (shoulder) will not participate in the camp either.

Australia training squad: Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Nick Cummins (Western Force), Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs), Michael Hooper (Brumbies), Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs), Mitch Inman (Melbourne Rebels), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Mowen (Brumbies), Cadeyrn Neville (Melbourne Rebels), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), David Pocock (Western Force), Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs), Hugh Pyle (Melbourne Rebels), Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs), Paddy Ryan (NSW Waratahs), Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs), Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs), Cooper Vuna (Melbourne Rebels), Nic White (Brumbies).


From Belfast Telegraph