Belfast Telegraph

McCloskey and Cooney named in Dream Team

Stuart McCloskey
Stuart McCloskey
John Cooney
Jonathan Bradley

By Jonathan Bradley

Ulster pair Stuart McCloskey and John Cooney have been rewarded for their form over the campaign with places in the Guinness Pro14's end-of-season Dream Team.

Rugby round up Newsletter

Game previews, plus expert insights and exclusive commentary from the Belfast Telegraph sports team.

McCloskey, who was the Ulster Players' and Supporters' Player of the Year, secured the inside centre position, while Cooney was named at scrum-half for the second season in succession.

The province's three other nominees, Eric O'Sullivan, Rob Herring and Marcell Coetzee, lost out to Edinburgh's Pierre Schoeman, Scarlets' Ken Owens and Edinburgh's Bill Mata respectively.

There was plenty of other Irish representation with Connacht's Jack Carty and Colby Fainga'a, Munster's Peter O'Mahony and Tadhg Beirne, and Leinster's Scott Fardy all making the cut.

The team was selected by media members covering the league. Players had to appear 10 times.

Guinness PRO14 Dream Team: Dan Evans (Ospreys); Monty Ioane (Benetton), Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Rabz Maxwane (Cheetahs); Jack Carty (Connacht), John Cooney (Ulster); Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors); Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Scott Fardy (Leinster); Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Colby Fainga'a (Connacht), Bill Mata (Edinburgh).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph