Belfast Telegraph

Sports Awards

Ulster v Edinburgh: Ulster denied by late Duncan Weir drop goal

Ulster Rugby 16 Edinburgh Rugby 17

By Adam McKendry

Duncan Weir’s last second drop goal broke Ulster hearts and handed Edinburgh a deserved 17-16 win at Kingspan Stadium in their Guinness PRO14 clash tonight.

Nerveless Weir slotted the drop goal under pressure, handing the Scots their first win in Belfast since 2009 and taking the visitors above Ulster in Conference B of the league.

The game actually got off to the perfect start for Ulster as, despite losing Craig Gilroy to injury, they got the opening try after 10 minutes when good hands from Louis Ludik and Nick Timoney put John Cooney over.

The scrum half converted before Edinburgh began to pile on the pressure, and the hosts had the TMO to thank when he ruled out Viliame Mata’s score when the flanker knocked on at the line.

Ulster’s defence couldn’t hold out forever though, and finally the visitors broke through, Hidalgo-Clyne breaking from one 22 to the other, and his kick through was gathered by the supporting Jason Harries for the tying score just before the interval.

Cooney landed two penalties to start the second half for Ulster, taking their lead out to six, but yet again it was their defence keeping them in the game as the Scottish visitors continued to press but couldn’t find a way through for a second time.

Eventually they did, Hidalgo-Clyne again instrumental as he took a quick tap penalty in midfield to bring play to the 22, where Lewis Carmichael barged his way over at pace.

Immediately Cooney responded, putting over a third penalty to put Ulster back in front, but they couldn’t close out the game and when presented with the chance, Weir made no mistake from right in front of the posts with his kick.

The scorers

For Ulster

Try: Cooney

Con: Cooney

Pens: Cooney (3)

For Edinburgh

Tries: Harries, Carmichael

Cons: Hidalgo-Clyne (2)

Drop: Weir


(15-9) Louis Ludik, Craig Gilroy (David Busby 7), Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey, Tommy Bowe, Johnny McPhillips (Jonny Stewart 36), John Cooney; (1-8) Andrew Warwick (Kyle McCall 53), Rob Herring (John Andrew 53), Wiehahn Herbst (Rodney Ah You 53), Alan O’Connor, Kieran Treadwell (Matthew Dalton 66), Matt Rea, Nick Timoney, Jean Deysel (Chris Henry 55).

Sub not used: Darren Cave.


(15-9) Dougie Fife, Jason Harries, Mark Bennett, Chris Dean, Duhan van der Merwe, Jaco van der Walt (Duncan Weir 72), Sam Hidalgo-Clyne (Nathan Fowles 64); (1-8) Jordan Lay (Rory Sutherland 53), Neil Cochrane (Cameron Fenton 64), Murray McCallum (Elliot Millar Mills 53), Fraser McKenzie (Magnus Bradbury 72), Lewis Carmichael, Viliame Mata, John Hardie (Luke Crosbie 53), Cornell du Preez.

Subs not used: Glenn Bryce.

Man of the Match: Fraser McKenzie (Edinburgh)

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph