| 13.4°C Belfast

Unbeaten Van Graan up for Leinster duel



Bring it on: Johann van Graan has named a strong line-up

Bring it on: Johann van Graan has named a strong line-up

©INPHO/Bryan Keane

Bring it on: Johann van Graan has named a strong line-up

Johann van Graan puts his unbeaten start as Munster coach on the line at a sold-out Thomond Park this afternoon and the South African has picked a formidable line-up for the eagerly-awaited Guinness PRO14 derby against Leinster.

The Reds boss has named close to his full-strength team for the inter-provincial clash, with Leinster coach Leo Cullen fielding a much-changed line-up.

Although he has made 12 changes and is without Rob Kearney, Garry Ringrose, Isa Nacewa, Johnny Sexton, Scott Fardy Sean O'Brien and the suspended Cian Healy from their win over Exeter, Leinster can still start 10 Ireland internationals as well as recent signing James Lowe, who was left out of the Euro clashes.

Jack McGrath captains the side for the first time, while Tadhg Furlong will be expected to make an impact off the bench.

Van Graan recalls Andrew Conway and Rhys Marshall who missed the win over Leicester, while Keith Earls replaces Alex Wootton and Tommy O'Donnell comes in for Chris Cloete.

Munster are hoping to keep pace with Glasgow Warriors, who are 12 points clear at the top of Conference A , while Leinster are three points behind Scarlets in Conference B.

Van Graan has steered his team to three wins since arriving, beating Ospreys and Leicester twice, and his team can go into the New Year on a high if they can secure festive bragging rights over their old foes with another victory today.

MUNSTER: A Conway; D Sweetnam, S Arnold, R Scannell, K Earls; I Keatley, C Murray; D Kilcoyne, R Marshall, S Archer; J Kleyn, B Holland; P O'Mahony (capt), T O'Donnell, CJ Stander. Reps: N Scannell, J Cronin, J Ryan, D O'Shea, J O'Donoghue, D Williams, JJ Hanrahan, S Zebo.

LEINSTER: J Larmour; B Daly, R O'Loughlin, R Henshaw, J Lowe; R Byrne, J Gibson-Park; J McGrath (capt), J Tracy, M Bent; DToner, J Ryan; J Murphy, D Leavy, J Conan. Reps: R Strauss, E Byrne, T Furlong, M Kearney, J van der Flier, N McCarthy, C Marsh, N Reid.

Ref: N Owens (Wales)

Rugby Round Up Newsletter

Exclusives and expert analysis from the sports team straight to your inbox

This field is required

Top Videos