Belfast Telegraph

Skipper Muller back in Ulster squad

Ulster captain Johann Muller has recovered from the arm injury that he sustained in Ulster’s Heineken Cup quarter-final defeat by Saracens two weeks ago and is named in coach Mark Anscombe’s extended 25-man squad to face Connacht at the Sportsground on Friday night (kick off 7.45pm).

John Afoa has returned from New Zealand and is also included in the squad as are Andrew Trimble, Paddy Jackson and Chris Henry who were all rested for the win over Newport Dragons last Friday night.

Paul Marshall is in line to make his 100th appearance for Ulster in the match.

With just two league games remaining for Ulster in the RaboDirect PRO12, the fixture is highly important as the Province chase a home semi-final in the competition.

Ulster are top of the RaboDirect PRO12, three points ahead of second-placed Leinster and four points ahead of Glasgow who are in third.

Ulster squad to face Connacht: Forwards (14) Chris Henry, Callum Black, Rory Best, Robbie Diack, Dan Tuohy, Lewis Stevenson, Declan Fitzpatrick, Nick Williams, Rob Herring, John Afoa, Ricky Lutton, Tom Court, Iain Henderson, Joahnn Muller;

 Backs (11) Ruan Pienaar, Jared Payne, Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall, Peter Nelson, Tommy Bowe, Andrew Trimble, Michael Allen, Adam D’Arcy, Stuart Olding, Darren Cave.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph