Belfast Telegraph

Ulster name changed side to face Edinburgh

Ulster coach Mark Anscombe has made seven changes to his side for Friday night's RaboDirect PRO12 game against Edinburgh at Murrayfield (7:30pm).


Captain Johann Muller, recovered from injury, is selected for the first time since February and he is joined in the second row by Lewis Stevenson. Dan Tuohy has been named in the back row alongside Mike McComish and Robbie Diack, who have been retained from the team which drew with Treviso in theuir last outing on March 1. John Afoa switches back to his regular tight head prop position, with Tom Court at loose head and Rob Herring at hooker.

Fit again Jared Payne will line up at full back for the first time since the beginning of January and is joined in the back three by Andrew Trimble and Michael Allen. Paul Marshall is another returning player and he will be partnered at half back by fellow Irish cap Paddy Jackson. Stuart Olding, who has scored twice in his last two games for the Province, will again combine with Darren Cave in midfield.

Nick Williams and Peter Nelson have returned from injury and are named among the replacements. They are joined on the bench by Niall Annett, Michael Heaney, Callum Black, Ali Birch and Ricky Andrew.

Team: (15-9): J. Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, S Olding, M Allen, P Jackson, P Marshall;
(1-8): T Court, R Herring, J Afoa, J Muller, L Stevenson, D Tuohy, M McComish, R Diack;
Replacements (16-23): N Annett, C Black, R Lutton, N Williams, A Birch, M Heaney, R Andrew, P Nelson.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph