Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Rhys Webb makes the right impression to win award

Wales scrum-half Rhys Webb has won the Welsh Rugby Writers' player of the year award.

Webb, who scored 19 tries in 27 appearances for Wales and the Ospreys last season, pipped his regional and Test team half-back partner Dan Biggar to the honour.

The 25-year-old made the Wales number nine shirt his own last term, with his try tally including touchdowns against New Zealand, Australia, England, Scotland and Italy.

Webb received his award at the Welsh Rugby Writers' Association Annual Lloyd Lewis Awards Evening, which was held in Cardiff on Tuesday.

He follows an illustrious list of previous winners, including Gareth Edwards, Jonathan Davies, Scott Quinnell, Shane Williams, Sam Warburton and Alun-Wyn Jones.

Scarlets flanker James Davies, meanwhile, was voted as the most promising player, and Pontypridd centre Dafydd Lockyer took the Principality Premiership player of the year award.


From Belfast Telegraph