Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Robinson rings the changes

Scotland have made 14 changes for Saturday's final World Cup warm-up match against Italy - with Graeme Morrison the sole survivor in the starting XV from the win over Ireland.

Alastair Kellock returns to the starting line-up as captain for the EMC Test with the Azzurri at Murrayfield.

The match represents the final opportunity for head coach Andy Robinson to select his 30-man World Cup squad, which will be announced on Monday.

The head coach said: "We have made 14 changes from the team that started against Ireland as we want to give those players who have been working very hard in training the opportunity to put that into practice in Saturday's Test match against Italy.

"Historically, Scotland have found Italy very tough opponents and it was no surprise to us that they achieved one of the results of the RBS 6 Nations Championship earlier this year when they accounted for France in Rome."

Scotland beat Ireland 10-6 on August 6, with a late Joe Ansbro try securing victory. Nick De Luca was influential in the move which earned the win and also scored his first Test try in Scotland's 21-8 win over Italy in March, their only victory in the Six Nations.

De Luca joins Morrison in the centre, with the back three formed by Simon Danielli, Max Evans and Rory Lamont. Edinburgh scrum-half Mike Blair is paired with Dan Parks at half-back.

Kellock is joined in the second row by Nathan Hines, with Alasdair Dickinson, Scott Lawson and Moray Low in the front row. The back row is formed by Kelly Brown, Richie Vernon and John Barclay.

Scotland team: R Lamont (Toulon); M Evans (Castres), N De Luca (Edinburgh), G Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), S Danielli (Ulster); D Parks (Cardiff Blues), M Blair (Edinburgh); A Dickinson (Sale Sharks), S Lawson (Gloucester), M Low (Glasgow Warriors), N Hines (Clermont Ferrand), A Kellock (capt, Glasgow Warriors), K Brown (Saracens), R Vernon (Sale Sharks), J Barclay (Glasgow Warriors).

Replacements: D Hall (Glasgow Warriors), E Murray (Newcastle), R Gray (Glasgow Warriors), R Rennie (Edinburgh), C Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), R Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), N Walker (Ospreys).


From Belfast Telegraph