Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Rory Best to captain Barbarians in final match against Wales

Rory best will play his final game in professional rugby this weekend.
Rory best will play his final game in professional rugby this weekend.

Rory Best will captain the Barbarians in the final match of the side's autumn series on Saturday.

Rugby round up Newsletter

Game previews, plus expert insights and exclusive commentary from the Belfast Telegraph sports team.

The Baa-Baas will take on Warren Gatland's Wales in Cardiff's Principality Stadium (kick-off 2.45pm) and Best has been confirmed as the skipper for what will be his final game.

The former Ulster captain, of course, retired from top class rugby after Ireland's World Cup exit but has enjoyed a few more hit-outs with the touring side.

He led the Barbarians in the narrow 31-33 defeat to Fiji at Twickenham and was a substitute in the 47-22 win in Brazil. While in Sao Paolo, Best stole the show by slotting over a left-footed conversion.

Now he seems set to finally play the last game of his professional career this weekend.

Best will feature alongside former Ulster team-mate Wiehahan Herbst, who is named at tight-head prop, and South African World Cup winner Schalk Brits.

Wales will be led by incoming coach Wayne Pivac for the first time. Flanker Justin Tipuric will captain the side New Zealand-born winger Johnny McNicholl will make his debut.

Wales team to face the Barbarians

(15-9): Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets); Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets), Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets), Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues); Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Tomas Williams (Cardiff Blues)

(1-8): Wyn Jones (Scarlets), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Aaron Shingler (Scarlets), Justin Tipuric (capt, Ospreys), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons).

Replacements: Elliot Dee (Dragons), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Leon Brown (Dragons), Seb Davies (Cardiff Blues), Ollie Griffiths (Dragons), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Sam Davies (Dragons), Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues).

Barbarians team to face Wales

(15-9): Shaun Stevenson (Waikoto Chiefs & Maori All Blacks); Dillyn Leyds (Stormers & South Africa), Mathieu Bastareaud (Lyon & France), Andre Esterhuizen (Natal Sharks & South Africa), Cornal Hendricks (Blue Bulls & South Africa); Curwin Bosch (Natal Sharks & South Africa), Bryn Hall (Crusaders & Maori All Blacks);

(1-8): Campese Maafu (Leicester Tigers & Fiji), Rory Best (capt, Ulster & Ireland), Wiehahn Herbst (Blue Bulls), Luke Jones (Melbourne Rebels & Australia), Tyler Ardron (Waikoto Chiefs & Canada), Pete Samu (ACT Brumbies & Australia), Marco van Staden (Blue Bulls & South Africa), Josh Strauss (Stade Francais & Scotland).

Replacements: Schalk Brits (Blue Bulls & South Africa), Craig Millar (Sunwolves), Hencus van Wyk (Sunwolves), George Biagi (Zebre & Italy), Angus Cottrell (Melbourne Rebels), Jano Vermaak (Stormers & South Africa), Billy Meakes (Melbourne Rebels), Matt Duffie (Auckland Blues & New Zealand).

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU).

Assistants: Dan Jones, Gwyn Morris (both WRU).

TMO: Ian Davies (WRU).

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph