Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Bangor eye up Kingspan date

By Ronnie Ingram

Dalriada and Bangor Grammar are the only two unseeded teams to qualify for the quarter-finals of the Danske Bank Schools' Cup - so the winners of their clash tomorrow will earn an unexpected last-four date at the Kingspan Stadium.

They met earlier in the season in testing conditions at Bangor where the home team adapted better and won narrowly.

Dalriada coach Rab Gregg said: "We are hopeful that the weather will be kinder to us this time. If we can contain them up front then we can win.

"We play a different style of rugby and combine well as a team with a strong link between the forwards and backs."

The Ballymoney side reached this stage following a 26-14 win over Omagh Academy and a 33-12 away success at Foyle College. They have Aaron Christie, playing in the competition for the third season, in the front row. He has improved significantly and has scored three tries.

Matthew Lockhart at No.8 also puts in a good shift. But they will have their work cut out against a Bangor team that overwhelmed Limavady Grammar 36-13 before an extraordinary 15-11 win at Ballyclare.

Bangor coach Jason Morgan stated: "Our out-half Lewis Bret is a fantastic ball handler. He is a natural leader and his kicking game has greatly improved."

Bangor start slight favourites despite being away from home.

DALRIADA: Aaron Christie, Jack Dowey, Scott Gamble, Jack Horsbrough, Fergal Wiseman, Matthew Kernoghan, Alan Montgomery, Matthew Lockhart, Matthew McConnaghie, Angus Johnston, Ross Fallows, Denis Pasternak, Stewart Moore, Gavin McConnaghie, Thomas Hunter, Jack McMullan, Mark Young, Andrew Stevenson, Matthew Kennedy, William Allen, Connor Creith, Adam Stewart, Lewis Henry, Louis Warke.

BANGOR: Evan Wellard-McMillan, Thomas Boyd, Martin Withers, Joe McClarnon, Patrick Eves, Connor McKee, Ethan Murray, Matthew Agnew, Cameron Webb, Lewis Bret, Callum Ferran, Charlie Blair, Zach Kerr, Ross Martin, Jamie Fulton, George Wright, Thomas Stallard, Bryn Crawford, Reuben McKeown, Jonny Fulton, Alex Stephenson, Chris Connolly, Callum Bowden

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph