| 4.6°C Belfast

Dromore High keep incredible High Schools' Trophy run going


High achievers: Dromore High Schools celebrate their victory

High achievers: Dromore High Schools celebrate their victory

?Russell Pritchard / Presseye

High achievers: Dromore High Schools celebrate their victory

Dromore High have only failed to win the High Schools' Trophy twice in the past 15 years and they claimed yet another success against Ballyclare Secondary at Kingspan.

"Ballyclare defended stubbornly in the first half as we only led 10-0 at the interval but once we got into our stride the tries started to flow and we ran in five in the second half," commented Dromore coach Jacques Benade.

"Alan Atkinson crossed for our first and Ben Davis the second but many scoring chances were squandered. Maybe it was nerves on the big occasion but we should have been further ahead.

"It was different in the second period as we won most of the possession for our backs to show their talent.

"We gave few chances to Ballyclare and I thought our whole team worked well."

No 8 Ben Heath and James Smith who came on to the wing scored two tries each. The other replacement winger John Kirk scored the other try while Ben Martin converted three.

Ballyclare coach Stephen McGuigan admitted Dromore were much too strong, especially in the second half.

"We held them in the first half and I would especially like to mention the outstanding efforts put in by our scrum-half and captain Adam Gibson and No 8 Paul McGookin," he said.

Ballyclare Secondary: Bailey McAuley; Christopher McWilliams, Yanis Graham, Taylor Bell, Ben Manson; Johnston Kirkpatrick, Adam Gibson (captain); Luke Ferguson, Adam Elliot, Matthew Dougan, Jordan Birnie, Benjamin Patterson, Josh West, Morgan Wallace, Paul McGookin. Replacements: Aran Lynch, Jake Semple, Ryan Fenwick, Adam Clarke, Philip Maybin, Ethan Corry.

Dromore High: Reuben Cobb; Robin Cantley, Aaron Atkinson, Ben Davis, Dylan Branker; Ben Martin, Dinis Manso (captain); Peter O'Connor, Jonathan Scott, Oliver Beatty, Elliot Forbes, James Moore, Robert Shaw, Matthew Pepper, Ben Heath: Replacements: Bryan McCandless, Ross Clarke, John Kirk, Marc Patton, Jake Boyd, James Smyth.

Belfast Telegraph