Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Long road to St Patrick's Day at Kingspan Stadium

Tomorrow's protagonists are battling it out for a place in the second round of the Danske Bank Schools' Cup where nine more teams will enter the fray.

The seven Round One winners will be joined in the second round draw by Bangor Grammar School, Belfast High School, Belfast Royal Academy, Dalriada School, Down High School, Omagh Academy, Portora Royal School, Rainey Endowed and Royal School Armagh.

The 'big guns' make their bow in Round Three, headed, of course, by defending champions, Methodist College.

The competition's most successful team are on a roll and, back in March, Michael Lagan became the 37th Methodist College captain to lead his team to victory in the showpiece at the Kingspan Stadium on St Patrick's Day.

His successor, Saul Herdman, will be hoping to claim a fourth consecutive title for his school, but Belfast rivals Campbell College and RBAI will certainly have something to say about that.

And the 'country cousins' will also be out to ensure the 'city slickers' don't have it their own way, with the likes of Wallace High and Ballymena Academy in contention.

Belfast Telegraph

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph