Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Royal denied by late show

Dungannon Royal 10 Omagh Academy 10

This local derby game resulted in a draw so they will have to meet again in the replay at Omagh on Wednesday.

This was a tremendous game with both teams playing attractive and open rugby. There were plenty of skills from both although Dungannon failed to take advantage of their first half opportunities.

They did take a deserved lead as they played their best rugby in this half.

Adam McCarter, their captain, Glen Smyton, Andrew Creaney, Gary Wong, Daniel Maxwell and and Andrew Clingan showed up well but bit was a kick ahead from their Irish Schools' player Peter Nelson that led to the first try.

The bounce was favourable so he gathered and ran in the final 10 metres to score. He then kicked the conversion.

Omagh were taking their time to have any influence at this stage and it was the home team who went further ahead in the second period.

Nelson kicked a penalty but this then seemed to make Omagh concentrate on the situation and it was not long before they retaliated.

Their forwards started to pressurise and a couple of 'push and goes' allowed them to advance.

Loose head prop Graham Foster brought them back into the contest with a try which Scott Elliott converted. The Omagh pack played well and were content to keep the ball tight. In consequence their backs were seldom used and they probably kicked too much.

They had talented players in Matthew Clarke, Ryan Mitchell, Scott Elliott, Aaron Short and David Thompson who kept them in the contest. When it looked as Dungannon were going to hold on for victory Omagh were awarded a last minute penalty and Elliott stepped up and did the needful to earn the replay.

Dungannon coach Keith Patton thought his team played well:

“We kept at it and I feel confident about our visit to Omagh on Wednesday,” he said.

Dungannon Royal: P Cashel, A Creaney, P Nelson, F Yuen, A Norris, G Smyton, G Wong, D Elliott, A Boyle, I Green, A Clingan, S Clark, D Maxwell, D Martin, A McCarter, G Brown, M Wright, M Black, S Rodgers, S Ho, D Davidson.

Omagh: M Clark, D Barr, R Mitchell, S Elliott, C Kyle, A McIlwaine, A Fleming, G Foster, R Hemphill, D Thompson, B Knox, J Sproule, A Short, G Sherrard, D Porter, M Gibson, G Graham, A Henry, G Foster, S Moffett, A Kyle.

Referee: A Reavey.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph