Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Wallace are Taylor-made

Wallace High 24 Omagh Academy 0

Omagh came to Wallace and although they did their their best the overall strength of the Lisburn team was too much to handle.

The visitors made too many errors but they had a few players who stood up to the battle. Ryan Mitchell did well in defence while Stephen Thompson and Aaron Shortt gave their all.

Despite this, Wallace never looked in any danger as they capitalised on the Omagh mistakes. They were very sharp at the breakdown and had a speedy centre in David Scott who created havoc in the Omagh defence.

Wallace started strongly, taking up a position close to their opponent's line and after six they went in front. A forward drive led to Chris Taylor scoring and Andrew Gilmore converting.

Shortly afterwards they had a second score when a poor kick through was picked up. Gilmore broke through a couple of tackles and fed Matthew Godfrey who linked with Scott, the speedy centre running in for Gilmore to again add the points.

Ten minutes into the second period, and following more forward dominance, Taylor drove over for his second score but it was unconverted. Ten minutes later the home side made sure with their fourth try. Jordan Heatley broke through for Alastair McCollum to touch down.

Omagh tried to came back but Wallace, with their much superior team, never looked like even conceding a point.

Despite all this it was a fairly successful campaign for the Co. Tyrone team having beaten Belfast High, drawing with Dungannon Royal and winning the replay before coming up against the formidable Wallace.

Omagh coach Ross Hunter said: “We could have played better but, at the same time, Wallace gave us few chances.”

Wallace High: K.McCall, R.Stewart, M.Godfrey, C.Spence, C.Munn, D.Henry, S.Evans, J.Clements, C.Taylor, R.Irwin, C.Hodgkinson, J.McMullan, F.Foxwell, M.Gilkinson, A.McCollum, A.Hanley, N.Reid, J.Heatley, D.Scott, A.Gilmore, C.Matthews, A.Wallwin

Omagh Academy: M.Clark, D.Barr, R.Mitchell, S.Elliott, C.Kyle, A.McIlwaine, A.Fleming, G.Foster, R.Hemphill, D.Thompson, B.Knox,, J.Sproule, A.Shortt, G.Sherrard, D.Porter, M.Gibson, G,Graham, A,Henry, G.Foster, S.Moffett, A.Kyle

Referee: A.Sturgeon

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph