Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Who are the key players? All you need to know about the quarter-finals of the Schools' Cup

Campbell’s Patrick McAlpine in action in the last round.
Campbell’s Patrick McAlpine in action in the last round.

The Danske Bank Schools' Cup is approaching its climax with eight teams left in the battle for glory.

Rugby round up Newsletter

Game previews, plus expert insights and exclusive commentary from the Belfast Telegraph sports team.

The winners of Saturday morning's quarter-finals know they have secured a spot at Kingspan Stadium for the semi-finals. So who will do it?

Here's everything you need to know about all the teams involved:

Ballymena Academy v Royal School Armagh (Kick-off 11am)

Ballymena Academy

Captain: Patrick Hargy

Coaches: John Andrews, Gavin Murray, Stephen Johnston

Rep players: Patrick Hargy (Ulster U19), Dean Millar (Ulster U18), James Wright (Ulster U17)

Player to watch: Ulster Under-17s’ James Wright is part of a competent half-back pairing who is a promising prospect

Squad: Alastair McKee, Joseph Mawhinney, Harry Andrews, Patrick Browne, Harry Cooke, Simon McWhirter, Adam Lamont, Frankie Andrews, Timothy Douglas, Ethan McPherson, Patrick Hargy, Charles Harper, Ben Johnston, Matthew French, Harry Bill, Jonathan Cochrane, Matthew Corr, Joshua Drain, Paul Gocher, Andrew Lawther, Ross McKay, Alexander McKinney, Dean Millar, Ben Savoury, Craig Simpson, James Wright, Angus Steele

Royal School Armagh

Captain: Aaron Woods

Coach: Willie Faloon

Player to watch: Charlie Worth can control a game and his accurate kicking has led to many of the team’s successes

Squad: Jude Roberts, Niall Carville, Ben Hughes, Adam Edgar, Sam Rainey, James Brown, Kyle George, Jack McCall, Andrew McSorley, James Agnew, Jason Denley, Ryan Finlay, Johnny Agnew, Aaron Woods, Peter Taylor, Charlie Worth, Alex Johnston, Romain Morrow, James Allen, Benji Boyd, Nicholas Jennings, Ben Lavery, Ethan McAtarsney, Chris Whiteside, Mickey Campbell

Methodist College v RBAI (Kick-off 10.30am)

Methodist College

Captain:  Kevin McNaboe

Coaches: Nick Wells, Stephen Lindsay

Representative players: Ethan McIlroy, Thomas Armstrong (Ire/Ulster U19), Chris Larmour, Robbie Armstrong (Ulster U19)

Player to watch: Ethan McElroy is a prolific try scorer and accurate kicker who accumulated 17 points at Dalriada

Squad: Ted Linton, Daniel Humphreys, Ben Crangle, Ben Gourley, Stephen Millar, David Boden, Kevin McNaboe, Adam Reid, Patrick Johnston, Harry McCartney, Matthew Hunter, Tom Millar, Max Lyttle, Adam Simms, Callum Davidson, Thomas Armstrong, Chris Larmour, John Fletcher, Robbie Armstrong, Tom O’Doherty, Ethan McIlroy, Luke Simms, Luke Graham, Louis Millar


Captain: Angus Adair

Coaches: Jason Morgan, Mike Bentley, Richard Hedley

Representative players:  Robin McIlveen, Jude Postlethwaite (Ulster U18), Paddy Eames (Ulster U17)

Player to watch: Captain Angus Adair’s return after injury will inspire the team

Squad: Rory Adair, Reece Anderson, Jared Waite, Callum Stewart, Stuart McCauley, Stuart Cameron, Robert Curry, Paddy Eames, Daniel Eakin, Alex Weir, Max Preston, Angus Adair, AJ Hussell, Tom Lavery, Marco Manso, Josh Patterson, Bradley McNamara, Hugo Ellerby, Simon Jackson, Ben Campbell, Ronan Boyle, Robin McIlveen, Jack Leathem, Jude Postlethwaite, Zac Davidson

New challenge: Jason Morgan is in his first year as RBAI boss

Campbell College v Enniskillen Grammar (Kick-off 11am)

Campbell College

Captain: Rex Tinsley

Coaches: Jonny Cupitt, Brian Robinson, Neil Doak

Representative players: Jack Stinson (Ulster U19), Conor Rankin, Paddy McAlpine (Ulster U18), Jack Boal, Finlay Parks, Luke Collins (Ulster U17)

Player to watch: Conor Rankin ran in a well worked try against Sullivan that opened up a vital points gap

Squad: Paddy McAlpine, Harry Jackson, John Gildea, Jack Stinson, Connor Macauley, James Johnston, Ben Rainey, Toni Olaniyan, Luke Collins, Jack Boal, Kyle Gill, Matthew Poor, Jamie Brennan, Archie Gillies, Dara Gaskin, Oli Ralston, Kieron Richardson, Harry Owens, Rex Tinsley, Danny Williamson, Conor Rankin, Harry Bell, Jack Bonnar, Finlay Parks, Jack Magarry, Adrian Maponga, Hugh Minford

Enniskillen Grammar

Captain: Alex Parke

Coaches: Ashley Finlay, Stewart McCain, Alastair Keys, Roci Allan

Player to watch: Callum Smyton is one to watch both in the loose and also in defence

Squad: Andrew Dane, Andrew Humphreys, Matthew Graham, Justin White, Ryan Phair, William Dowson, John Allan, Neil Rutledge, Michael Rooney, Matthew Wilson, David Stinson, Henry Keys, Harry Dane, Albert Gauley, Callum Smyton, Matthew McConkey, Matthew Bothwell, Eddie Keys, Robbie Mills, Stephen Balfour, Alex Parke, Sam Milligan, Sam Balfour, Stuart Brown, Curtis Coalter, Taine Haire, Jack O’Hare, Angus Frazer

Rainey Endowed v Wallace High School (Kick-off 11am)

Rainey Endowed

Captain: Bryn Davies

Coaches: Chris Campbell, Charlie Simpson, Richard Henderson, Stu McCalmont, Tommy O’Hagan

Representative player: Bryn Davies (Ulster U19)

Player to watch: Callum Donnelly is lethal when in possession close to the try line

Squad: Rory Bradley, Bryn Davies, Lee Montgomery, Daniel Clarke, Seb Hastings, Joel Bell, Bryan Hall, Adam McCrum, Andrew Campbell, Kyle Scott, Callum Donnelly, Callum Bolton, Tim Campbell, Jonathan Drennan, Ciaran Doyle, Jack Bresland, Harry Evans, Ross Speers, David Dripps, Max Miller, Joshua Johnston, Abban McCloy, Aaron Caldwell, Aidan McDonald

Wallace High School

Captain: Reuben Crothers

Coaches: Derek Suffern, David Chambers, Neil Hinds

Rep players: Nathan Doak (Ire/Ulster U18), Reuben Crothers, Joel Dundas, Ben Carson (Ulster U18), Peter Heasley, Harvey Patterson (Ulster U17)

Player to watch: Luke Allison scored two excellent tries at Cambridge House

Squad: Jack Bailie, Joe Crane, Dean McCavery, Peter McRoberts, Dylan Sedge, Harry Long, Kyle Patton, Jake Crothers, Daniel Kilpatrick, Scott Wilson, Harry McMeekin, Reuben Crothers, Thomas Brolly, Peter Heasley, Matthew Thompson, Lewis Nelmes, Joel Wiseman, Luke Rushe, Luke Allison, Nathan Doak, Harvey Patterson, Jack Dillon, Nathan Robinson, Joel Dundas, Ben Carson, Finn Malley, James McNeight, Brandon Watson, Harry Wallace

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph