Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Scotland name sevens squad

Scotland have confirmed their participation in the Sevens rugby event at the Commonwealth Games in October and have named a 12-man squad.

Seven of the players featured in the Edinburgh leg of the 2010 IRB Sevens World Series while six of the squad for the Games in Delhi have been capped at A level.

Head coach Stephen Gemmell said: "We are delighted that our participation in the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi has been confirmed."

He added: "The Commonwealth Games is a major event on the world sporting calendar and Scottish Rugby and Scotland 7s are hugely honoured to be part of it.

"Our preparations will now start in earnest with a view to contributing to a successful Team Scotland in October."

The Sevens event takes place on October 11 and 12 at Delhi University's North Campus.

Squad: M Adamson (Glasgow), A Blair (Edinburgh), D Callam (Edinburgh), S Forrest (Glasgow), C Fusaro (Glasgow), J Houston (Edinburgh), L Jones (Selkirk), S McInally (Edinburgh), S Newlands (Edinburgh), H O'Hare (Glasgow), C Shaw (Glasgow), A Turnbull (Edinburgh).


From Belfast Telegraph