Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Seven uncapped players for Boks

South Africa have named seven uncapped players in a 51-man squad called up for a team planning session in Cape Town next month ahead of the World Cup and international season.

Only three of those included - winger Lionel Mapoe, scrum-half Sarel Pretorius and loose forward Duane Vermeulen - are still to have any involvement with the Springbok squad.

The other four, namely fly-half Elton Jantjies, scrum-half Charl McLeod and props Coenie Oosthuizen and Werner Kruger, all featured at some stage in the Peter de Villiers' squad that toured Great Britain and Ireland at the back end of last year.

All four also appeared for their country against the Barbarians in December.

The entire party will attend two days of meetings and logistical discussions in the first of three national camps in preparation for the new season.

All the big name players have been included, the likes of captain John Smit, his deputy Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana and Schalk Burger.

However, those based outside the country, like Frans Steyn, Butch James and Ruan Pienaar, were excluded.

It means that there are 17 members in total that were part of the World Cup-winning squad from 2007.

Jurie Roux, the South African Rugby Union chief executive officer, said: "SARU's priority is first and foremost with Springbok preparations in this Rugby World Cup year and with the support of the provinces our national teams department has been able to plan three squad get-togethers during Vodacom Super Rugby.

"There are many demands on the Springboks as well as off-field operational matters to be attended to in a Rugby World Cup year and as part of Peter de Villiers' long-term planning he requested that time be made now so that the team can get straight to on-field work once they gather for the first Tests of the year in July."


From Belfast Telegraph