| 12.1°C Belfast

Six Nations trophy plans set out


The RBS 6 Nations trophy

The RBS 6 Nations trophy

The RBS 6 Nations trophy

Wales will not receive the RBS 6 Nations trophy in Rome next Saturday if they win this season's title.

There are only two Six Nations trophies - the original and a replica - with tournament organisers confirming those will be at Twickenham and Murrayfield on the competition's final day.

England, Ireland and Wales are all currently tied on six points, with England leading courtesy of their superior points difference. Ireland are second and Wales third.

The tournament's concluding day of action sees three games - Italy versus Wales, Scotland versus Ireland and England versus France - taking place directly after each other across a time-span of more than six hours.

"We have had to make a decision as to where we send the two trophies," a Six Nations spokesperson said.

"What we have done is base that decision on points difference. So we are going to send the trophy to Twickenham, and the replica will go to Murrayfield."

If England win the title, the trophy presentation will take place on the Twickenham pitch after the match, while if Ireland are crowned champions, there will also be a pitch presentation, but in a closed stadium, as spectators will have left the ground.

Should Wales take a third Six Nations crown in four years, though, their trophy presentation would not be until Sunday, with talks currently ongoing about logistics between Six Nations officials and the Welsh Rugby Union.

But sets of winners' medals will be present at all three venues next Saturday.

"If Wales win the title, then medals will be presented to the team at the post-match dinner in Rome," a Six Nations spokesperson added.

"And we will then organise a trophy presentation for the next day in Wales, when the team gets back home."

If two teams or more end up level on points and points difference after Saturday's action, then overall try-count will be used to decide silverware.

If try-count is also level, then the championship will be shared.