| 9.7°C Belfast

Minor changes as McNamara looks to build on positive start



Action stations: Lewis Finlay has retained his place

Action stations: Lewis Finlay has retained his place

�INPHO/James Crombie

Action stations: Lewis Finlay has retained his place

Following last week's six-try 38-26 victory over Scotland, there has been minimal alteration to the Ireland U20s side which hosts Wales in Cork tomorrow evening (7.15pm).

Coach Noel McNamara has made two changes to the starting team after the reigning Six Nations champions opened their account with an encouraging bonus point win.

While one Ulster-based player comes in, another drops out as Ballymena's Ben Moxham wins his first cap as he is on the wing in place of the injured Queen's University player Ethan McIlroy.

The other change sees Marcus Hannan make the starting side, swapping last week's place on the bench with fellow Leinster-based player Charlie Ward.

Moxham's elevation, at the unfortunate McIlroy's expense, means that there are still five Ulster-based players in McNamara's squad.

Ballynahinch centre Hayden Hyde will be hoping to build on his impressive performance against the Scots as will Malone scrum-half Lewis Finlay.

Up front, Ballynahinch hooker Tom Stewart gets another outing in the side skippered by Banbridge back-rower David McCann.

Former Campbell College hooker John McKee, who is now based in Leinster and scored last week against Scotland, is once again benched.

The Irish, top of the table after the first round of games, will be confident of making it two wins from two as Wales were beaten at home by Italy last weekend.

"Now that we are up and running, we are looking forward to improving upon that (Scotland) performance," McNamara said.

"This presents a new challenge against Wales and the players have worked hard building towards this game."

Ireland U20s: O McNulty, B Moxham, D Kelly, H Hyde, A Smith, J Crowley, L Finlay; M Hannan, T Stewart, T Clarkson, T Ahern, B Deeny, S O'Brien, M Hernan, D McCann (capt). Replacements: J McKee, H Noonan, C Ward, J McCarthy, C Prendergast, B Murphy, T Corkery, L Faria.

Belfast Telegraph