| 5.9°C Belfast

Six Nations: England coach Eddie Jones imposes a media ban


Silence: Eddie Jones says he’ll take a back seat this week

Silence: Eddie Jones says he’ll take a back seat this week


Silence: Eddie Jones says he’ll take a back seat this week

England head coach Eddie Jones has claimed he will refuse to speak to the media until the day before his side take on Wales next weekend.

The Aussie was in spiky form after watching the 21-10 triumph over Ireland and did not respond kindly to questions regarding his pre-match comments about Jonathan Sexton or possible dangerous play from Red Rose full-back Mike Brown.

The former Japan coach, who succeeded Stuart Lancaster after the World Cup, dominated the build-up to the Test thanks to a press conference where he questioned the health of Sexton and suggested the out-half's parents would be worried by his injuries.

"From this press conference onwards, I'm putting a media ban on myself," said Jones. "I don't want to do any scaremongering or anything that offends the media or people's parents.

"From now until Friday I'm not talking to the media so no one will have to worry.

"If I don't say anything you come away from the press conference and say it's boring. If I say something, I'm scaremongering. I can't win, so the easiest way is that I don't come to the media conference.

"I will leave that to (Wales coach) Warren Gatland, he's pretty good at it."

Asked if he felt bringing Sexton's family into the equation had been unnecessary, he added: "I don't regret anything. Why would I regret it? Ireland said he had whiplash injuries, not me.

"It's a sideshow, it's finished. The main event is over, we're not talking about the sideshow any more."

The man who led Australia to the 2003 World Cup final bristled further when asked for his take on an incident involving Brown in the 71st minute.

The Harlequins man's boot made contact with Conor Murray's head - the Irish scrum-half later required stitches - at a ruck but a lengthy discussion between referee Romain Poite and his TMO brought no censure.

"The referee adjudicated on it. If the ball is on the ground you can play it," said Jones. "Had he been tackled? Are you allowed to play the ball? You tell me.

"You can play the ball on the ground. The referee adjudicated.

"You can give your opinion. If I give mine then the headline is 'Jones complains about referee' so I'm not going to."

Belfast Telegraph