Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Six Nations

Six Nations: France make one change for Dublin date

France have made one change in personnel plus a positional switch for Sunday’s Dublin date with Ireland.

Inside centre Maxime Mermoz, who won his eighth cap in France's 34-21 win over Scotland last weekend, is ruled out by a shoulder injury.

His place goes to Biarritz Olympique’s Damien Traille who switches from full-back to midfield where he partners the impressive Aurelien Rougerie.

Coach Marc Lievremont said: “We go with stability. I think Damien is better physically and mentally than he was in November.

“I liked his performance at the back. He can play in many positions.”

With Traille vacating the full-back slot, Lievremont has given Toulouse’s Clement Poitrenaud the number 15 jersey.

Poitrenaud and half-back pair Morgan Parra and Francois Trinh-Duc are the only surviving backs of the team that trounced Ireland 33-10 in Paris last season en route to the Grand Slam.

But it’s a different matter in the pack, with the same front row — Thomas Domingo, William Servat and Nicolas Mas — lining out, while three others — lock Lionel Nallet, blindside and captain Thierry Dusautoir and No 8 Imanol Harinordoquy — are retained from the sides’ 2010 meeting.

Yannick Jauzion, who started that game alongside Mathieu Bastareaud in the centre, is named among the replacements as is prop, Sylvain Marconnet. Jauzion has a shoulder injury but will be fit.

FRANCE: Clement Poitrenaud (Toulouse), Yoann Huget (Bayonne), Aurelien Rougerie (Clermont Auvergne), Damien Traille (Biarritz Olympique), Maxime Medard (Toulouse), Francois Trinh-Duc (Montpellier), Morgan Parra (Clermont Auvergne), Thomas Domingo (Clermont Auvergne), William Servat (Toulouse), Nicolas Mas (Perpignan), Julien Pierre (Clermont Auvergne), Lionel Nallet (Racing Metro 92), Thierry Dusautoir (Toulouse, captain), Julien Bonnaire (Clermont Auvergne), Imanol Harinordoquy (Biarritz Olympique). Replacements: Guilhem Guirado (Perpignan), Sylvain Marconnet (Biarritz Olympique), Jerome Thion (Biarritz Olympique), Sebastien Chabal (Racing Metro 92), Dimitri Yachvili (Biarritz Olympique), Yannick Jauzion (Toulouse), Vincent Clerc (Toulouse).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph