Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Six Nations

Six Nations France v Ireland: Squad named for Saturday's Paris test

The Ireland team to play France in the RBS Six Nations Championship at the Stade de France on Saturday has been named.

Ireland are looking to secure back-to-back victories in France for the first time in 89 years.

Rob Kearney has trained with the squad and will start the game at full-back, with his younger brother Dave slotting in on the left wing with Andrew Trimble completing the back-three.

Although both Simon Zebo and Keith Earls attended a Thursday morning training session they will not be risked this week.

The centre partnership of Jared Payne and Robbie Henshaw remains in place with Jonathan Sexton and Conor Murray named together again at half-back.

Sean O'Brien has come through training and will start at openside flanker, combining with CJ Stander - last week's man-of-the-match against Wales - and number eight Jamie Heaslip in a powerful back row combination.

O'Brien's recovery from a hamstring injury sees Tommy O'Donnell move to the replacements. The rest of the pack, led by captain Rory Best, is unchanged from the 16-all draw with Wales.

Richardt Strauss comes onto the bench for Sean Cronin, while fellow Leinster players Eoin Reddan and Fergus McFadden are also included among the replacements.

Ireland team to play France, Saturday, 2.25pm:

15. Rob Kearney, 14. Andrew Trimble, 13. Jared Payne, 12. Robbie Henshaw, 11. Dave Kearney, 10. Jonathan Sexton, 9. Conor Murray, 1. Jack McGrath, 2. Rory Best, 3. Nathan White, 4. Devin Toner, 5. Mike McCarthy, 6. CJ Stander, 7. Sean O'Brien, 8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) (vice-capt).

Replacements: 16. Richard Strauss, 17. James Cronin, 18. Tadhg Furlong, 19. Donnacha Ryan, 20. Tommy O'Donnell, 21. Eoin Reddan, 22. Ian Madigan, 23. Fergus McFadden.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph