Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Six Nations

Six Nations: Iain Henderson on bench as Ireland team named for Scotland clash

Tadhg Furlong and Iain Henderson are both available for Ireland against Scotland.
Tadhg Furlong and Iain Henderson are both available for Ireland against Scotland.

Ulster's Iain Henderson is back but only on the bench as Joe Schmidt names his Ireland team to take on Scotland.

Rugby round up Newsletter

Game previews, plus expert insights and exclusive commentary from the Belfast Telegraph sports team.

The lock missed the win over Wales with a hamstring issue, as did Tadhg Furlong, but only one returns to the line-up for the Aviva Stadium clash (Saturday - 2.15pm kick-off).

Coach Schmidt may have one eye on a potential championship decider away to England in Twickenham by keeping the Ulster lock in reserve as Devin Toner retains his position alongside James Ryan.

Garry Ringrose has been brought in to replace the injured Chris Farrell while both Rory Best and Jacob Stockdale start as the only Ulstermen in the 15.

Other than the inclusion of Furlong and Ringrose, it's as you were for the starting XV with four changes on the bench where Andrew Porter, Henderson, Jordi Murphy and Jordan Larmour replace John Ryan, Quinn Roux, Jack Conan and Fergus McFadden.

Furlong is reunited with Cian Healy and Rory Best, while the back-row combination of Peter O'Mahony, Dan Leavy and Jack Conan is retained.

Despite rumours of injuries to Keith Earls and Johnny Sexton, both are retained as the out-half partners up with Conor Murray once again, while Earls joins Jacob Stockdale and Rob Kearney in the back-three.

Ringrose has not played for Ireland this season due to shoulder and ankle issues, but returns to join Bundee Aki in midfield for the first time.

Scotland made one change to their side following the win over England, with Blair Kinghorn coming in for the injured Tommy Seymour.

Ireland can win the Six Nations title if they beat the Scots and better England's result against France in Paris.


Ireland team to face Scotland at Aviva Stadium

15. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster) 81 caps

14. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 65 caps

13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 11 caps

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 5 caps

11. Jacob Stockdale (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 7 caps

10. Johnny Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 71 caps

9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 62 caps

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 76 caps

2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 109 caps

3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 21 caps

4. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 6 caps

5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 56 caps

6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 45 caps

7. Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps

8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 21 caps


16. Sean Cronin (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 59 caps

17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 45 caps

18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 5 caps

19. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 36 caps

20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 18 caps

21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 19 caps

22. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 8 caps

23. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 1 cap

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph