Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Six new faces for Springboks

South Africa coach Peter de Villiers has named six uncapped players in his preliminary 49-man squad for their World Cup defence.

De Villiers has rewarded the likes of Cheetahs back-rower Ashley Johnson and Lions fly-half Elton Jantjes for their excellent form in difficult Super 15 campaigns for their franchises.

They were joined by Bulls prop Dean Greyling and his provincial colleague Werner Kruger, Cheetahs front-rower Coenie Oosthuizen and impressive Western Province flanker Duane Vermuelen.

There were also four overseas-based players in the form of Racing Metro centre Frans Steyn and the Ulster trio of BJ Botha, Ruan Pienaar and Johan Muller.


From Belfast Telegraph