| 4.4°C Belfast

Smith to lead Boks against Baa-Baas

Juan Smith

Juan Smith will captain South Africa when they take on the Barbarians next weekend in their final match of the season.

The Springboks named a 23-man squad on Sunday with Smith taking the armband from Victor Matfield, who misses out after suffering a rib injury in Saturday's 21-11 victory over England.

Jean de Villiers also picked up a a groin strain in the same Test and has been released from the side, along with Francois Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Pierre Spies, Morne Steyn and Deon Stegmann.

The starting line-up will be named on Wednesday, with the Springboks taking on the Baa-Baas at Twickenham on Saturday.

The 23-man South Africa squad is:

Backs: Gio Aplon, Francois Hougaard, Adi Jacobs, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Charl McLeod, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane.

Forwards: Willem Alberts, Bakkies Botha, Keegan Daniel, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ryan Kankowski, Bandise Maku, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Juan Smith (captain), Adriaan Strauss, CJ van der Linde, Flip van der Merwe.