Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

South Africa v USA and Namibia v Georgia: Live scores, updates and results from Rugby World Cup

The United States will want to take down one of the southern hemisphere big three, while the Springboks will want to confirm their place as Pool B champions

It’s a big game for…

Samu Manoa: The second-row is starting as captain for the Americans. With the USA out of the running for the knockout phases, he will be wanting to show off his abilities against some of the best in the world.


South Africa: Willie Le Roux; Bryan Habana, Jesse Kriel, Damian De Allende, Lwazi Mvovo; Handre Pollard, Fourie Du Preez, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Francois Louw; Lodewyk De Jager, Eben Etzebeth; Frans Malherbe, Bismarck Du Plessis, Tendai Mtwarira.

Replacements: Schalk Bits, Trevor Nkane, Coenie Oosuizen, Pieter Steph Du Toit, Millem Albert, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Jan Serfonein.

USA: Blaine Scully; Brett Thompson, Folau Niua, Andrew Suniula, Zachary Test; Shalom Suniula, Niku Kruger; Samu Manoa, John Quill, Danny Barrett; Matt Trouville, Louis Stanfill; Chris Baumann, Phil Thiel, Olive Kilifi.

Replacements: Joe Taufetee, Zach Fenoglio, Mate Moeakioa, Titi Lamositele, Cameron Dolan, Alastair McFarland, Mike Petri, Chris Wyles.

Form guide…

South Africa: LLWLWW


Kick-off: 16.45 Wednesday 7th October.

TV: Live on ITV/ITV4, highlights on ITV/ITV4


Namibia v Georgia

With Tonga playing their final game on Friday, this is the best chance for Georgia to secure 3rd place in Pool C and gain automatic qualification to the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

It’s a big game for

Merab Kvirikashvili: The fullback for the Georgians has kicked conversions and penalties for his team and with his 15th appearance, he will become the second highest capped player from a non-Tier 1 nation in the history of the competition behind Brian Lima with 18 caps.


Namibia: Chrysander Botha, David Philander, Danie van Wyk, Darryl De La Harpe, Russel van Wyk, Theuns Kotze, Eugene Jantjes; Renaldo Bothma, Tinus du Plessis, Jacques Burger, Tijuee Uanivi, PJ van Lill, Raoul Larson, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Johnny Redelinghuys.

Replacements: Louis van der Westhuizen, Jaco Engels, Johannes Coetzee, Wian Conradie, Rohan Kitsoff, Johan Tromp, Damian Stevens, Heinrich Smit.

Georgia: Merab Kvirikashvili; Tamaz Mchedlidze, Davit Kacharava, Merab Sharikadze, Alexander Todua; Lasha Malaguradze, Vasil Lobzhanidze; Mamuka Gorgdze, Viktor Kolelishvili, Giorgi Tkhilaishvili; Konstantine Mikautadze, Giorgi Nemsadze; Davit Zirakashvili, Jaba Bregvadze, Mikheil Nariashvili.

Replacements: Shalva Mamukashvili, Karlen Asieshvili, Anton Peikrishvili, Levan Datunashvili, Lasha Lomidze, Giorgi Begadze, Giorgi Aptsiauri, Beka Tsiklauri.

Weird stat…

This is the average time in minutes that Namibia have managed to have possession per game during the competition. They are the only team who has failed to surpass the 10 minute mark.

Form guide

Namibia: WWWWLL

Georgia: LLLWLL

Vital information…

Kick-off: 20.00 Wednesday 7th October.

TV: Live on ITV4, highlights on ITV

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph