Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Springboks unchanged for Dublin tie

South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has named the same team that beat world champions New Zealand last month for Saturday's clash against Ireland in Dublin.

The only change is on the bench, where injured prop Marcel van der Merwe is replaced by Coenie Oosthuizen.

"It's only the fifth time in what will be the 34th Test since I was appointed as Springbok coach that we've been able to select an unchanged starting line-up," Meyer said.

"In this day and age, not making changes to teams is pretty much unheard of, but this is a great position we are in.

"However, we need to make it count against a very tough Irish side on Saturday.

"Although we won our last Test, the challenge this week is to make another step up. It's imperative that we improve in all facets of our play."

After Ireland, South Africa will go on to play England and Italy before ending their European tour against Wales in Cardiff on November 29.

Team: W le Roux; C Hendricks, J Serfontein, J de Villiers (capt), B Habana; H Pollard, F Hougaard; T Mtawarira, B du Plessis, J du Plessis, E Etzebeth, V Matfield, M Coetzee, T Mohoje, D Vermeulen.

Replacements: A Strauss, T Nyakane, C Oosthuizen, B Botha, S Burger, C Reinach, P Lambie, J P Pietersen.


From Belfast Telegraph