Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

The Calcutta Cup in numbers

England will be hoping to record their 18th consecutive Test victory when they take on Scotland in the RBS 6 Nations on Saturday.

Here, Press Association Sport looks at some of the key numbers associated with the Calcutta Cup.

123 - Number of times the Calcutta Cup has been played for since 1879, England winning 69, Scotland 39 and 14 draws.

1983 - Last time Scotland beat England at Twickenham, a 22-12 triumph, 17 matches ago.

270 - Number of Indian Rupees melted down by the Calcutta Football Club, a rugby union club, to create the trophy.

3 - Number of king cobras which form the cup's handles.

18 - Height of the trophy in inches.

11 - Number of games which have not been a contest for the Calcutta Cup - the eight prior to 1879; the World Cup semi-final in 1991 and the 2011 World Cup pool game (both won by England) and the 1971 Centenary match (won by Scotland).

43 - England's highest points total in the match (2001 and 2005).

33 - Scotland's highest points total in the match (1986).

9 - Longest Cup-winning streak, set by England between 1991 and 1999.

6 - Number of months Scotland flanker John Jeffrey was banned for by the SRU for his part in an incident in 1988 which saw the Cup damaged in Edinburgh.

1 - Number of matches Dean Richards was banned for due to his part in the same incident.

27 - Record individual points tally in the game, set by Jonny Wilkinson in 2007.

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph