Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Three Ulstermen named in Ireland team to face Fiji at Aviva Stadium

Ulster's Stuart McCloskey and Rob Herring have both been named alongside Fivemiletown man Chris Farrell in the Ireland squad to face Fiji on Saturday.

McCloskey will earn his second cap while Herring is in line for his third appearance for Ireland. Chris Farrell, who plays for Munster, is set for his Ireland debut.

Rhys Ruddock reprises his summer tour role as captain and is joined in the backrow by Jordi Murphy and Jack Conan.

Ultan Dillane joins Devin Toner in the engine room with Jack McGrath, Herring and Andrew Porter in the front row.

Kieran Marmion partners Joey Carbery at half-back with McCloskey and Farrell partnered in the midfield.  Andrew Conway is named at fullback with Darren Sweetnam and Dave Kearney on the wings.

The replacements for Saturday are James Tracy, Cian Healy, Tadhg Furlong, Kieran Treadwell, CJ Stander, Luke McGrath, Ian Keatley and Robbie Henshaw.

IRELAND team to play Fiji – Saturday 18th November 2017

15. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 4 caps

14. Darren Sweetnam (Cork Constitution/Munster) 1 cap

13. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 0 caps

12. Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/UIster) 1 cap

11. Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 16 caps

10. Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 5 caps

9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 17 caps


1. Jack McGrath (St Mary's College/Leinster) 41 caps

2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 2 caps

3. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

4. Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 10 caps

5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 51 caps

6. Rhys Ruddock (c) (St Mary's College/Leinster) 17 caps

7. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster) 17 caps

8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 4 caps


16. James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 71 caps

18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 17 caps

19. Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) 2 caps

20. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 16 caps

21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster) 5 caps

23. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 30 caps

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph