Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Ulster pair Cooney and McCloskey named in PRO14 Dream Team

John Cooney.
John Cooney.

Ulster pair John Cooney and Stuart McCloskey have been named in the Guinness PRO14 Dream Team for the 2018/19 season.

Rugby round up Newsletter

Game previews, plus expert insights and exclusive commentary from the Belfast Telegraph sports team.

Cooney is one of only three players from last season’s Guinness PRO14 Dream Team to have been re-selected.

The team was revealed on a TV Special aired by Premier Sports and eir sport on where Rory Lawson, Sean Holley, Luke Fitzgerald and Murray Kinsella dissected and debated about who deserved their places and who was unlucky to miss out.

Eric O’Sullivan, Rob Herring and Marcell Coetzee were among those nominated.

Ulster ace Stuart McCloskey.


1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)

2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)

3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster)

5. Scott Fardy (Leinster)

6. Peter O’Mahony (Munster)

7. Colby Fainga’a (Connacht)

8. Bill Mata (Edinburgh)

9. John Cooney (Ulster)

10. Jack Carty (Connacht)

11. Rabz Maxwane (Toyota Cheetahs)

12. Stuart McCloskey (Ulster)

13. Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues)

14. Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby)

15. Dan Evans (Ospreys)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph