Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Ulster players set for Ireland debuts on summer tour

Four Ulster players have been included in the Ireland squad for this summer's three Test tour of the USA and Japan.

Luke Marshall and Paddy Jackson have been called up while Jacob Stockdale and Kieran Treadwell are both in line for their Ireland debuts. There is also a place for uncapped scrum-half John Cooney, who is set to join Ulster from Connacht this summer.

Ireland's first game of the Summer Tour takes place against the US Eagles at the Red Bull Arena in New Jersey on Saturday 10th June.  The squad then flies to Japan for two Tests against the RWC19 hosts who have been drawn in Pool A alongside Ireland at the World Cup.  The first Test takes place at the Ecopa Stadium in Shizuoka on Saturday 17th June with the final Test of the tour being held at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday 24th June.

Ireland Under 20 captain James Ryan also receives his first call-up to the senior squad, despite being yet to make his debut for Leinster.

The squad contains four more uncapped players in Dave Heffernan, Rory O'Loughlin, Andrew Porter and Rory Scannell.

Ireland Head Coach, Joe Schmidt, commented, "With eleven players due to tour with the British and Irish Lions, plus a number of injuries to experienced internationals, the summer tour squad includes plenty of youth.

"There is a real freshness to the group, including the coaching staff, so we're looking forward to what will be a very challenging summer tour.

"We have retained a sprinkling of experienced players, some of whom may yet be called up to the Lions, but the focus is really on challenging the younger players to cope with the heat and foreign conditions as well as the speed and physicality of test rugby.”

One further player player will be added to the squad following the weekend's provincial fixtures.

The tour will also see three young Irish coaches spend time with the national team.  Racing 92's Ronan O'Gara will accompany the team for the New Jersey leg of the tour with Leinster's Girvan Dempsey with the group for the first week in Japan and Munster's Felix Jones working with the team for the final week of the tour in Tokyo.



Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 6 caps

Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 3 caps

Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 1 cap

Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 1 cap

John Cooney (Connacht) uncapped

Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 59 caps

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 67 caps

Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) uncapped

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 23 caps

Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 17 caps

Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 13 caps

Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9 caps

Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1 cap

Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps

Jack O'Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) 1 cap

Tiernan O'Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps

Rory O'Loughlin (Old Belvedere/Leinster) uncapped

Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) uncapped

Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps

Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster) 13 caps

James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) uncapped

John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6 caps

Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 4 caps

Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) uncapped

Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) uncapped

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 47 caps

James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps

Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) uncapped

Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 33 caps

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph