Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Cooney misses out as Ulster make three changes for Racing 92 trip

John Cooney will miss Ulster's game against Racing 92.
John Cooney will miss Ulster's game against Racing 92.
Pitching in: Ulster ace Marty Moore in action in pre-season against Wasps before getting injured

Ulster Head Coach Dan McFarland has made three changes to his starting line-up for Saturday's trip to France to take on Racing 92 as scrum-half John Cooney misses out.

Marty Moore, who impressed on his debut as a first half replacement in the victory over Leicester Tigers last Saturday, comes in for his first competitive Ulster start in place of Ross Kane.

Kieran Treadwell has been brought into the second row in place of Alan O'Connor and the third change sees David Shanahan replacing Cooney, who suffered an AC joint injury during Ulster's opening Champions Cup win.

Rory Best will captain the side from the front row, alongside Moore and Andy Warwick. Iain Henderson will partner Treadwell in the engine room, and the back row of Marcell Coetzee, Jordi Murphy and Nick Timoney is retained.

Apart from Shanahan, the backline remains unchanged with Billy Burns at fly-half, Jacob Stockdale and Craig Gilroy on the wings, Stuart McCloskey and Will Addison in midfield, and Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy prospect Michael Lowry at full-back.

Adam McBurney, Eric O’Sullivan and Kane cover the front row from the bench, with O’Connor and Sean Reidy included as the additional forward options.

Jonny Stewart is in line for his European bow if called upon as he joins Johnny McPhillips and Angus Kernohan among the backline replacements.

*Make sure you follow the match on our live blog. Kick-off at the La Defense Arena is at 5.30pm on Saturday.*

Ulster Rugby team to play Racing 92

(15-9): M Lowry; C Gilroy, W Addison, S McCloskey, J Stockdale; B Burns, D Shanahan;

(1-8): A Warwick, R Best (captain), M Moore, I Henderson, K Treadwell, M Coetzee, J Murphy, N Timoney;

Replacements (16-23): A McBurney, E O’Sullivan, R Kane, A O’Connor, S Reidy, J Stewart, J McPhillips, A Kernohan.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph