Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Darren Cave and Paddy Jackson to start for Ulster against Munster in Guinness PRO12 clash

Darren Cave and Paddy Jackson have been named in Ulster's starting XV for the first inter-pro of the season, against Munster at Thomond Park on Friday.

Cave and Jackson made replacement appearances last week in the win over Cardiff Blues as Ulster extended their unbeaten run at Kingspan Stadium to 14 PRO12 games.

There are two other changes in the starting team as Neil Doak continues to rotate his squad during a block of 16 consecutive fixtures.

Peter Nelson returns to the side at fullback and is joined in the back three by Craig Gilroy and Andrew Trimble. Paul Marshall and Stuart McCloskey, both of whom scored tries against Cardiff, are retained at scrumhalf and inside centre respectively.

The only change up front sees Andy Warwick replace Callum Black at loosehead prop, joining captain Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst in the front row.

Lewis Stevenson and Franco van der Merwe continue their second row partnership, with Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy and last week's Man of the Match, Nick Williams, once again combining in the back row.

Henry, who competed at the Rugby World Cup with Cave and Jackson, will provide cover for the loose forward trio in Limerick. Dan Tuohy has followed the return-to-play protocols after his concussion in the Edinburgh game and will join Henry on the bench.

Paul Rowley, recruited from London Welsh in the summer, is in line to make his first competitive appearance of the season after being named as the scrumhalf replacement. John Andrew, Callum Black, Ricky Lutton, Ian Humphreys and Sammy Arnold are the other players in the match day squad.

Ulster enter the game in fifth place, two points adrift of third placed Munster, whose perfect start to the new Guinness PRO12 season ended with their 25-22 defeat at Scarlets on Friday.

Munster were undefeated against Ulster last season, winning 21-20 at Thomond Park and then drawing 23-23 at Kingspan Stadium in May, in two extremely hard-fought encounters. Ulster has won just once in the PRO12 in Limerick since 2009; a memorable 19-17 success in May 2014.

Ulster team and replacements to play Munster, Guinness PRO12, Thomond Park, Friday 30th October 6pm kick off:

(15-9): Peter Nelson; Craig Gilroy, Darren Cave, Stuart McCloskey, Andrew Trimble; Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; (1-8): Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring (captain), Wiehahn Herbst, Lewis Stevenson, Franco van der Merwe, Roger Wilson, Sean Reidy, Nick Williams;

Replacements: (16-23): John Andrew, Callum Black, Ricky Lutton, Dan Tuohy, Chris Henry, Paul Rowley, Ian Humphreys, Sammy Arnold.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph