Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Eight Ulster players named in Ireland's Six Nations squad

Ulster's Heineken Cup heroics have seen eight of their players today rewarded with places in Joe Schmidt's Ireland squad for the Six Nations Championship starting this weekend.

First up is a home date with Scotland on Sunday (3.00pm) and after excelling in Europe where they have emerged as number one seeds with the only six out of six pool-stage record, Ulster's stars have played their way into impossible-to-ignore positions.

The Ulster players selected are Rory Best, Iain Henderson, Chris Henry, Dan Tuohy, Luke Marshall, Andrew Trimble, Paddy Jackson and Darren Cave.

Ireland's 34-man squad for Scotland and Wales


Forwards (18)


Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)


Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)*


Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)


Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)


Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)


Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)


Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)


Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)


Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)*


Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)*


Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)


Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)


Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)


Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)


Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster)


Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)




Backs (16)


Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)


Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)


Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)


Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)


Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)


Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)


David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)


Luke Marshall (Ballynahinch/Ulster)


Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)


Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)


Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)


Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)


Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)


* denotes uncapped players

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph