Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Scarlets 32 - 32 Ulster Rugby: Ulstermen's thrilling comeback to draw in their PRO12 away opener

By John Mulgrew

Ulster Rugby have drawn with Scarlets during a thrilling Guinness PRO12 away opener in Wales.

Scarlets had proved too much for the Ulstermen during early in their away clash at Parc Y Scarlets stadium - the side pulling 14 points in front.

But an Andrew Trimble ball going over in the last few minutes, along with an Ian Humphreys conversion, drew the scores level in the dying seconds.

The Scarlets had led 32-18 with 17 minutes left on the clock, but spearheaded by second-half replacements Trimble and powerhouse number eight Nick Williams, the Ulstermen came surging back to share the spoils.

One of Ulster's new signings, Franco van der Merwe, scored a storming try during his debut with the club.

Scoring also came in the form of a Dan Tuohy try.

Scarlets managed several themselves, including two from Gareth Davies.

Liam Williams also saw a red card after two yellows in the last few minutes of the game.

A breathless opening saw three tries scored inside the first 14 minutes.

The opener came after just two minutes and was scored by wing Harry Robinson - one of three new signings making their Scarlets debut.

A clever chip and chase by Wales centre Scott Williams set up the attack, but after he spilled the ball, Ulster attempted to counter from deep.

This afternoon Louis Ludik, Franco van der Merwe and Wiehahn Herbst each made their competitive debuts for Ulster, against Scarlets, at Parc Y Scarlets, on Saturday  afternoon.

The Province traveled to Wales to take on a Scarlets side who beat Gloucester last weekend and who have a squad packed full of internationals.

Ludik, who joined Ulster in the summer, started the game at full back. Michael Allen is selected on the right wing with Jared Payne and Stuart Olding picked in the centre. 

Scarlets: L Williams, H Robinson, R King, S Williams, M Tagicakibau, R Priestland, G Davies; P John, K Owens (cpt), R Jones, J Ball, J Snyman, R McCusker, J Barclay, R Pitman

Replacements: E Phillips, R Evans, P Edwards, R Kelly, A Shingler, R Williams, S Shingler, G Owen.

Ulster: L Ludik, M Allen, J Payne, S Olding, C Gilroy, I Humphreys, P Marshall; C Black, R Herring, W Herbst, D Tuohy, F van der Merwe, R Diack, C Henry, R Wilson (cpt).

Replacements: J Andrew, A Warwick, D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, N Williams, M Heaney, L Marshall, A Trimble.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph