Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster A name experienced team for British and Irish Cup quarter-final

Peter Browne.
Peter Browne.

Ulster A have named an experienced side for their British and Irish Cup quarter-final in Bedford this weekend.

The starting XV have 205 first team appearances between then, with only five uncapped at senior level.

The most experienced is Clive Ross, boasting 59 appearances for Ulster's senior side while Peter Nelson has 47 Ulster caps.

Ross Kane will captain the side from tight-head prop alongside Adam McBurney at hooker and Tommy O’Hagan at loose-head.

Matthew Dalton, one of 11 Abbey Insurance Ulster Academy players in the squad, joins Peter Browne in the second row.

In the back row, Marcus Rea and Clive Ross start at blindside and openside respectively, with Greg Jones the other loose forward.

Behind the pack, David Shanahan is given the nod to start at scrum-half, with Peter Nelson continuing at fly-half.

Angus Curtis, who impressed for Ireland U20s during the recent Six Nations campaign, will make his first appearance in the British & Irish Cup, as he is named in midfield beside the ever-present Callum Patterson. Both are uncapped at senior level.

In the back three, the pace laden duo of Aaron Cairns and Angus Kernohan start on the wings, with Jack Owens retaining his place at full-back.

On the bench, Ulster coaches Kieran Campbell and Willie Anderson have opted for a 5/2 combination as Alexander Clarke, Eric O’Sullivan and Tom O’Toole will cover the front row, with Jack Regan and Matthew Agnew selected as the other forward replacements. Jonny Stewart and James Hume will provide the backline cover.

Ulster A team to play Bedford Blues, Saturday 31st March at Goldington Road, 3.00pm:

(1-8): Tommy O’Hagan, Adam McBurney, Ross Kane (Capt), Matthew Dalton, Peter Browne, Marcus Rea, Clive Ross, Greg Jones;

(9-15): David Shanahan, Peter Nelson, Aaron Cairns, Angus Curtis, Callum Patterson, Angus Kernohan, Jack Owens.

Replacements: Alexander Clarke, Eric O’Sullivan, Tom O’Toole, Jack Regan, Matthew Agnew, Jonny Stewart, James Hume.

Belfast Telegraph Digital

Daily News Headlines Newsletter

Today's news headlines, directly to your inbox.


From Belfast Telegraph