Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster make NINE changes for Connacht clash

And how to get tickets for the match

By Gareth Hanna

Ulster have named nine changes in their team to face Connacht as Chris Henry returns to captain the side.

Ulster take on their interpro rivals on Friday (Kingspan Stadium, 7.35pm) with a much-changed line-up from the side that lost to Zebre on Saturday.

The players to hold their places are Iain Henderson and Jean Deysel, who accompany Henry in the back row, as well as John Cooney, Christian Lealiifano, Luke Marshall and Charles Piutau.

Kyle McCall, Rob Herring and Wiehahn Herbst come in to occupy the front row positions, with Alan O'Connor and Kieran Treadwell named in the second row.

Cooney and Lealiifano are retained as the half backs and will steer an all-international backline.

Stuart McCloskey is back in midfield alongside Marshall, with Jacob Stockdale and Tommy Bowe selected on the wings and Piutau at fullback.

John Andrew, Andy Warwick and Rodney Ah You will provide front row cover, while Robbie Diack and Sean Reidy will provide Les Kiss with further forward options from the bench.

Paul Marshall, Pete Nelson and Louis Ludik are the backline replacements.

Ulster Rugby team to play Connacht (Friday 6th October, Kingspan Stadium, 7.35pm):

(1-8): K McCall, R Herring, W Herbst, A O'Connor, K Treadwell, I Henderson, C Henry (captain), J Deysel;

(9-15): J Cooney, C Lealiifano, J Stockdale, S McCloskey, L Marshall, T Bowe, C Piutau;

Replacements (16-23): J Andrew, A Warwick, R Ah You, R Diack, S Reidy, P Marshall, P Nelson, L Ludik.

Can I still get tickets?

Yes, tickets for the Guinness PRO14 Round 6 clash are still available, including in the Grandstand, from

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph