| 12.4°C Belfast

Ulster Rugby names team for Leinster clash


Battlecry: Ulster's Rory Best

Battlecry: Ulster's Rory Best

Battlecry: Ulster's Rory Best

The Ulster team has been announced for Saturday's sold-out Guinness PRO12 clash against Leinster at Kingspan Stadium (kick-off 3pm).

Ireland internationals Andrew Trimble, Stuart McCloskey and Chris Henry are the only new faces to the team which defeated Zebre 17-47 last time out.

The front row is unchanged for this crucial game with captain Rory Best packing down alongside Callum Black and Ricky Lutton, who will make his 50th appearance for the Province. Franco van der Merwe and Pete Browne continue their hugely effective second row partnership.

Henry's inclusion results in Sean Reidy moving to occupy the number 8 jersey, while Iain Henderson will retain his position at blindside flanker.

Ruan Pienaar and Paddy Jackson will start together at half back for the sixth consecutive game. McCloskey will resume his partnership with Luke Marshall in midfield after missing the win over Zebre because of a shoulder injury.

Trimble, who also missed that trip to Parma, will take his place on the right wing and will be joined in the back three by Craig Gilroy and Jared Payne.

Director of Rugby, Les Kiss, has named a strong bench that includes six Irish-capped players.

Rob Herring, Kyle McCall and Andy Warwick will provide options in the front row department, with Robbie Diack and Roger Wilson covering the other forward positions.

The backline trio of Paul Marshall, Stuart Olding and Darren Cave will give Kiss plenty of attacking options off the bench.

Ulster team to play Leinster

(15-9): J Payne; A Trimble, L Marshall, S McCloskey, C Gilroy; P Jackson, R Pienaar;

(1-8): C Black, R Best (c), R Lutton, P Browne, F van der Merwe, I Henderson, C Henry, S Reidy;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, K McCall, A Warwick, R Diack, R Wilson, P Marshall, S Olding, D Cave.

Belfast Telegraph